Florida voters on November 3, 2020, passed Amendment 2, which will, over a period of years, increase Florida’s minimum wage to $15.00 per hour. The first annual increase was effective September 30, 2021, and increased the minimum wage to $10.00 per hour. Subsequent increases of $1.00 are scheduled to take place each September 30, until the hourly rate reaches $15.00 on September 30, 2026.
Articles About Florida Labor and Employment Law.
Executive Summary: Effective October 1, 2021, Florida businesses will be required to submit new hire information for their independent contractors to the Florida Department of Revenue. This is a significant change for business in Florida as previously reporting of independent contractors by a business was optional.
A recent amendment to child support laws will impose new and potentially onerous requirements on Florida businesses, starting October 1, 2021. The new law removes the current 250-employee threshold for new hire reporting, and, for the first time, requires businesses to report information regarding certain independent contractors.
Florida employers should be prepared to comply with important changes to the minimum wage and the requirement to report the use of independent contractors.
Late last month, the Florida Supreme Court codified into Florida Rule of Civil Procedure 1.280(h) the “apex doctrine” and declared the doctrine applies with equal force to high-ranking corporate and government officials.
Florida employers can require employees to obtain COVID-19 vaccinations, submit records of such vaccination, and implement other safety measures for their workplaces notwithstanding national publicity suggesting that recent Florida rules, orders, and laws prohibit or discourage these public health measures. As the pandemic worsens it is important for employers
On May 3, Governor Ron DeSantis signed into law SB 2006 (codified as Section 381.00316, Florida Statutes). The law prevents business entities from requiring that patrons or customers provide documentation certifying COVID-19 vaccination or post-infection recovery to enter or obtain service from a business in Florida. It also prohibits
The Florida Supreme Court recently amended Florida Rule of Civil Procedure 1.510 (Summary Judgment), adopting the less restrictive federal summary judgment standard as articulated by the United States Supreme Court in Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317 (1986), Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242 (1986), and Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith
Florida Governor Ron DeSantis took two bold moves on Monday related to government oversight of COVID-19 emergency standards while declaring “we are no longer in a state of emergency.” The first, an extension of Executive Order 21-81 announcing certain prohibitions with respect to “vaccine passports,” was expected. The second,
Kimberly Doud and Nancy Johnson of Littler’s Orlando office are back to discuss recent developments in Florida – Florida’s new liability shield law relating to lawsuits claiming damages for COVID-related injuries, damages or death, and Florida’s latest executive order prohibiting state agencies from issuing “vaccine passports.” Kimberly and Nancy
Florida may soon join the growing number of states that have enacted comprehensive consumer privacy legislation. Backed by Governor Ron DeSantis, Florida House Bill 969 (HB 969) would create new obligations for covered businesses and greatly expand consumers’ rights concerning their personal information, such as a right to notice about a business’s data collection and selling practices.
On December 31, 2020, the Florida Supreme Court announced the amendment of Florida’s summary judgment standard, adopting the more relaxed federal summary judgment standard, in an effort to improve the fairness and efficiency of Florida’s civil justice system and relieve parties from the burdens of meritless litigation.
On November 3, 2020, Florida voters approved Amendment 2, which will amend Florida’s constitution to gradually increase the state’s minimum wage to $15 an hour by the year 2026. In Florida, a constitutional amendment must be passed by a “super-majority” (equal to or greater than 60%). Amendment 2 passed
Florida voters on November 3, 2020 passed Amendment 2, which will, over a period of years, increase Florida’s minimum wage to $15.00 per hour.
On October 14, 2020, the Florida Fourth District Court of Appeal granted a petition for a writ of certiorari quashing a trial court’s discovery order that had compelled an employer to produce “financial worth” discovery in an employment discrimination case. While the trial court retained broad discretion over the scope