On March 4, 2021, Governor Ned Lamont signed legislation prohibiting discrimination on the basis of ethnic traits historically associated with race. The CROWN Act (Bill No. 6515), also known as the “Creating a Respectful and Open World for Natural Hair” Act, amends the definition of race in the state’s anti-discrimination
Articles about Connecticut Labor and Employment Law.
Employers can expect an active 2021 Connecticut General Assembly since the 2020 legislative session was cut short. (The session lasted a little over a month before it was suspended on March 12, 2020, due to the pandemic and then officially adjourned on May 6, 2020.)
With a difficult 2020 nearing its end, if Connecticut Paid FMLA has recently reappeared on your radar, don’t fret! Simply review the below basics to prepare for this upcoming change.
As a reminder, last summer (i.e., an eternity ago), Connecticut enacted two separate laws—one creating a paid leave benefit and
On June 25, 2019, Connecticut enacted the Paid Family and Medical Leave Act (PFMLA), which creates a system that will entitle each eligible Connecticut employee to paid family leave. While payment of benefits under the law will not start before January 2022, important employer obligations take effect in less
Governor Ned Lamont recently announced details of Connecticut’s plan to move to Phase 3 of reopening amid the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. Phase 3, which is scheduled to take effect on Thursday, October 8, 2020, will relax some of the capacity restrictions that were put into place with respect to
Connecticut employers need to start their preparations for the Paid Family and Medical Leave Act (PFMLA), a law that requires all private employers with Connecticut employees to provide paid leave to eligible employees. The Connecticut Paid Leave (CTPL) program, established by the PFMLA, is set to begin in just a
The Connecticut Department of Labor (CTDOL) has issued new and revised regulations regarding the state’s tip credit law. The final regulations greatly clarified some aspects of the existing regulatory language that had led to many class action lawsuits against Connecticut restaurants.
The Connecticut Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities (CHRO) has extended the deadline to complete sexual harassment training required by the Time’s Up Act by 90 days, to January 1, 2021.
On August 12, 2020, the United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit limited the scope of a nationwide injunction that had blocked the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) and U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) from implementing and enforcing the Inadmissibility on Public Charge Grounds final rule
On August 12, 2020, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit limited the nationwide injunction on the Department of Homeland Security’s Public Charge Rule to three states: Connecticut, New York, and Vermont.
Since August 14, 2019, exactly one year ago today, when DHS published the final version of
In May 2019, Connecticut joined a host of other states, including New York, New Jersey, and Massachusetts, in passing a bill that, pursuant to a series of incremental increases over time, will raise the state’s minimum wage to $15.00 per hour. The first increase occurred in October 2019 and the
Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont has signed a bill that requires the police to undergo “implicit bias training” effective immediately.
On July 24, 2020, Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont signed his 63rd executive order in response to the public health emergency posed by COVID-19. Executive Order 7JJJ (“the Order”) creates a rebuttable presumption that certain workers who missed at least one (1) day of work between March 10, 2020 and May 20, 2020 and who were diagnosed with COVID-19 contracted the virus on the job.
On July 21, 2020, Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont issued Executive Order No. 7III, which made mandatory a previous advisory self-quarantine recommendation for individuals—including employees—traveling from states with high COVID-19 infection rates. While an exemption for essential travelers still applies, there were a number of changes
New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut issued a joint incoming travel advisory, effective June 25, 2020, requiring all individuals—including Tristate Area residents—to self-quarantine for 14 days when arriving from an “impacted state.” The Joint Travel Advisory defines “impacted state” as a state having: (i) a positive COVID-19 test rate