In May 2019, Connecticut joined a host of other states, including New York, New Jersey, and Massachusetts, in passing a bill that, pursuant to a series of incremental increases over time, will raise the state’s minimum wage to $15.00 per hour. The first increase occurred in October 2019 and the
Articles about Connecticut Labor and Employment Law.
Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont has signed a bill that requires the police to undergo “implicit bias training” effective immediately.
On July 24, 2020, Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont signed his 63rd executive order in response to the public health emergency posed by COVID-19. Executive Order 7JJJ (“the Order”) creates a rebuttable presumption that certain workers who missed at least one (1) day of work between March 10, 2020 and May 20, 2020 and who were diagnosed with COVID-19 contracted the virus on the job.
On July 21, 2020, Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont issued Executive Order No. 7III, which made mandatory a previous advisory self-quarantine recommendation for individuals—including employees—traveling from states with high COVID-19 infection rates. While an exemption for essential travelers still applies, there were a number of changes
New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut issued a joint incoming travel advisory, effective June 25, 2020, requiring all individuals—including Tristate Area residents—to self-quarantine for 14 days when arriving from an “impacted state.” The Joint Travel Advisory defines “impacted state” as a state having: (i) a positive COVID-19 test rate
On June 7, 2020, Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont and the Department of Economic and Community Development (DECD) released guidelines for businesses allowed to reopen during Phase 2 of the state’s reopening plan. As of June 17, 2020, additional business sectors will be permitted – but not required – to
As some Connecticut businesses prepare to reopen on May 20, how will state “reopening” rules affect the essential business that have been operating all along? This is an important question for essential businesses and state regulators alike.
On May 9, 2020, Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont and the Department of Economic and Community Development (DECD) released guidelines for businesses that will be allowed to reopen during Phase 1 of the state’s reopening plan.
Recognizing employers have challenges in ensuring employees complete Connecticut’s new mandatory sexual harassment training requirements during the COVID-19 pandemic, the Connecticut Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities (CHRO) has authorized employers to apply for a 90-day extension to complete training for employees who have been hired after October 1, 2019.
In response to the COVID-19 crisis, Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont has issued an Executive Order mandating all persons in public places use masks or cloth face-coverings if they are unable to, or do not, stay at least six feet from any other person. This also applies to employees reporting to work at essential employers. Those employers must provide masks or face-coverings to their employees or provide materials, or reasonable compensation for the materials, to make masks.
Executive Summary: Over the past few days, Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont has issued Executive Orders 7V, 7W and 7X, the latest in a series of Executive Orders directed toward the COVID-19 pandemic.
On April 7, 2020, the governor of Connecticut issued Executive Order No. 7V (“EO 7V”) which, among other things, requires every workplace in the state to take additional protective measures to reduce the risk of transmission of COVID-19 between and among employees, customers, and other people authorized to enter the workplace. Governor Lamont directed the Commissioner of Economic and Community Development (in consultation with the Commissioner of Public Health) to issue “legally binding statewide rules” prescribing additional protective measures, which are mandatory to all essential businesses and nonprofits and any other business or nonprofit permitted to operate across the state under EOs 7H and 7J.
Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont and the Connecticut Department of Economic and Community Development (DECD) have issued new “legally binding” rules for employers deemed “essential” during the COVID-19 pandemic.
In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Connecticut Workers’ Compensation Commission has instituted temporary emergency guidelines that will directly impact the day-to-day operations of the Commission as well as the speed at which cases will be heard. In response to this unprecedented event, the Commission has postponed all dockets for March
In Connecticut’s continued battle against the spread of COVID-19, on March 20, 2020, Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont issued Executive Order 7H, which directs, in relevant part that: