Employers should have a comprehensive plan regarding sexual harassment prevention in the workplace, which includes training for all employees. Under current California law, employers with five or more employees are required to provide two hours of sexual harassment prevention training to supervisors and managers and one hour of sexual harassment
Articles Discussing Sexual Harassment Claims In California.
Sexual Harassment Prevention: It is Not Just About Sex!
In this episode, Jen and Erika Frank remind employers about the importance of Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO) training, a.k.a sexual harassment prevention training. Jen explains that EEO Compliance is not just about sex. Diversity, equity, inclusion (and belonging) are important topics to include when training employees about EEO compliance. Remember:
Complying with California’s Sexual Harassment Prevention Training Requirements
In 2018, the California Legislature passed a slew of bills to prevent sexual harassment in the workplace, including Senate Bill No. 1343. This bill expanded employee protections to require employers who employ 5 or more employees, including temporary or seasonal employees, to provide at least 2 hours of sexual harassment prevention training to all supervisory employees and at least 1 hour of sexual harassment prevention training to all nonsupervisory employees. These regulations previously only applied to employers with 50 or more employees. The initial deadline for providing new training to those employees not previously covered under prior state law was January 1, 2020. However, SB 778, which was passed on August 30, 2019, extended the deadline to January 1, 2021.
Governor Signs Legislation Regarding Sexual Harassment Training Requirements for Minors in the Entertainment Industry
On September 25, 2020, Governor Gavin Newsom signed Assembly Bill 3175, which amends Labor Code section 1700.52 regarding sexual harassment prevention training requirements of age-eligible minors prior to the issuance of entertainment work permits. Previously, Section 1700.52 required a minor and the parent or legal guardian to complete the sexual
DFEH Introduces Online Harassment Prevention Training
On May 20, 2020, the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH) published an online harassment prevention training module designed to meet a recent California mandate that nonsupervisory employees receive one hour of harassment prevention training every two years.
California’s Continued Reaction to #MeToo Two Years Later – the Good, the Bad, and the Ugly
Helene Wasserman, Los Angeles-based Littler Shareholder and Trial Practice Group Co-Chair, reflects on some good, bad, and ugly impacts of the #MeToo movement since its inception, including recent legislative developments affecting California employers in particular. Discussing training, arbitration agreements, and the extended statute of limitations for FEHA claims with Littler Learning Group’s Marissa Dragoo, Helene provides insights and guidance for California employers as we move into the third year of the cemented #MeToo movement.
California Pushes Back Start Date for Small Business Anti-Harassment Training Requirement
On August 30, 2019, California Governor Gavin Newsom signed Senate Bill 778, delaying mandatory anti-harassment training deadlines, and resolving confusion about retraining requirements for certain employees who already received training in 2018 or 2019.
California Governor Newsom Extends Employers’ Deadline to Comply with Anti-Harassment Training Requirements
On August 30, 2019, Governor Gavin Newsom signed Senate Bill (SB) 778, which amends Section 12950.1 of the California Government Code. SB 778 extends California employers’ obligation from January 1, 2020 to January 1, 2021, to comply with sexual harassment trainings as outlined under California Government Code section 12950.1.
#MeToo Training 2.0: California Promotes Bystander Intervention Training
Bruce Sarchet, of Littler’s Workplace Policy Institute, and Marissa Dragoo with the Littler Learning Group, take a look at a new type of workplace training – bystander intervention training – that is now encouraged for California employers. This optional training teaches employees how to evaluate and respond to problematic behaviors in the workplace, empowering them to interrupt difficult situations, such as sexual harassment.
What Does California’s New Sexual Harassment Training Requirements Mean for Staffing Firms?
Last year, California enacted SB 1343,1 amending California’s Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA) to expand employers’ sexual harassment training requirements. Previously, employers with 50 or more employees had to provide their supervisory personnel with two hours of sexual harassment prevention training every two years.
We Have to Provide California Anti-Harassment Training Again?
Effective January 1, 2019, California SB 1343 greatly expanded Golden State employers’ anti-harassment training requirements. The law not only extends coverage to employers with more than five employees, but it also mandates that employers provide anti-harassment training to all employees – not just supervisors – every two years. But what if an employer provided this training in 2018? Can the next training cycle wait until 2020? No, according to recent guidance from the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH). In this podcast, Marissa Dragoo from the Littler Learning Group discusses potential SB 1343 compliance challenges with Littler Workplace Policy Institute members Bruce Sarchet and Corinn Jackson.
Time to Reset Your Anti-Harassment Training Schedule for Supervisory Employees in California
As California employers lay out their plans for compliance training in the coming year, the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH) has clarified how to handle training supervisory employees who may have received AB 1825-compliant training sometime in 2018. The DFEH has taken the position that both supervisory and nonsupervisory employees who received sexual harassment prevention training in 2018 should receive it again in 2019.
California Restricts Confidentiality Provisions Concerning Information Related to Sexual Harassment
California Governor Jerry Brown has signed three bills into law that restrict employers in the securement of non-disclosure, release, and non-disparagement agreements that attempt to limit parties in discussing sexual harassment-related factual information.
New California Law Alert! Expanded Requirements for Talent Agencies to Provide Sexual Harassment and Eating Disorder Related Education and Training to Its Artists
Governor Jerry Brown has signed into law Assembly Bill 2338 which requires talent agencies licensed by the California Labor Commissioner to provide materials related to sexual harassment prevention, retaliation, among others, to its artists. Additionally, the bill requires that prior to receiving a permit to employ a minor in the entertainment industry, the minor’s parent or legal guardian must participate in trainings related to sexual harassment prevention, retaliation, and reporting resources.
Claims of Workplace Harassment in California to Receive Greater Protections under New Law
Beginning January 1, 2019, new California law creates several new protections for employees bringing harassment claims.