In a press conference on December 1, 2021, Governor Ned Lamont, along with Connecticut Paid Leave Authority Chief Executive Officer Andrea Barton Reeves, announced that the Connecticut Paid Leave Authority is now accepting applications for Connecticut residents who want to participate in the state’s new paid family and medical leave
Articles Discussing Labor And Employment Law In All Fifty Us States And Puerto Rico.
Seeking “compromise” and following in the footsteps of other governors, Kansas Governor Laura Kelly signed House Bill (HB) No. 2001 into law on November 23, 2021, broadening exemptions from employer COVID-19 vaccine mandates, permitting the imposition of civil penalties against noncomplying Kansas employers, and providing unemployment benefits to individuals who
On November 23, 2021, the New York City Council passed a bill amending its Earned Safe and Sick Time Act requiring all private-sector employers to provide their employees with four hours of paid COVID-19 child vaccination leave for each of their children, per vaccine injection, retroactive to November 2,
Most employees in San Francisco (and throughout California) receive one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked. The San Francisco Board of Supervisors is now considering an ordinance that would broaden the availability of paid sick leave to domestic workers by establishing a “portable” paid sick leave system.
Effective August 1, 2021, the Louisiana Employment Discrimination Law was amended to expressly require Louisiana employers with more than 25 employees to provide reasonable accommodations to employees with limitations arising from pregnancy, childbirth, or related medical conditions, provided that such limitations are known to the employers.
Following such states as California, Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, and Oregon, Washington’s Governor Jay Inslee has issued Proclamation 21-14.3 to require certain workers be fully vaccinated against COVID-19 and provide proof of such vaccination.
The Massachusetts Department of Family and Medical Leave (DFML) has continued to issue guidance and clarifications regarding the Massachusetts Paid Family and Medical Leave Act (PFML) since the law went into effect in January 2021.
On October 28, 2021, Governor Hochul signed legislation which expanded the scope of whistleblower protection under New York Labor Law Section 740. The new amended law expands the scope of individuals protected, the definition of protected activity, and the types of employment related actions which can constitute retaliation, the
California’s drive toward a 15-dollar minimum wage for all employers continues. Effective January 1, 2022, the minimum wage for employers with 25 employees or less will increase to $14.00 per hour, and for employers with 26 or more employees, the minimum wage will increase to $15.00 per hour. Employers must
WCL 114-a provides the Workers’ Compensation Board with the authority to disqualify a claimant from receiving lost time benefits, “[i]f for the purpose of obtaining compensation pursuant to Section 15 of this chapter, or for the purpose of influencing any determination regarding any such payment, a claimant knowingly makes a false statement or representation as to a material fact.” Section 15 is specific to lost wage replacement.
On November 16, 2021, Governor Spencer J. Cox signed SB2004 into law, placing limitations and additional obligations on Utah employers that have implemented vaccine or testing requirements on employees. The law was passed in the Utah Legislature’s second special session of 2021.
Relief from Employer Vaccination Requirements/Mandates
In 2018, the California Legislature passed a slew of bills to prevent sexual harassment in the workplace, including Senate Bill No. 1343. This bill expanded employee protections to require employers who employ 5 or more employees, including temporary or seasonal employees, to provide at least 2 hours of sexual harassment prevention training to all supervisory employees and at least 1 hour of sexual harassment prevention training to all nonsupervisory employees. These regulations previously only applied to employers with 50 or more employees. The initial deadline for providing new training to those employees not previously covered under prior state law was January 1, 2020. However, SB 778, which was passed on August 30, 2019, extended the deadline to January 1, 2021.
Nancy Johnson and Kimberly Doud of Littler’s Orlando office are back to discuss Florida’s new law relating to COVID-19 vaccine mandates and its interplay with the status of federal requirements. Nancy and Kimberly discuss how employers in Florida can understand if they need to comply with the new law, what
On November 19, 2021, the City of Philadelphia announced all City workers must “complete a full schedule of COVID-19 vaccination(s)” by January 14, 2022, or risk losing their jobs. This mandate comes following the City’s announcements requiring all Philadelphia healthcare workers, college students, faculty and staff to be vaccinated by October 15, 2021 and all non-union workers to be fully vaccinated by December 1, 2021.
When the U.S. Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) issued a new emergency temporary standard (ETS) on November 4, 2021, Oregon OSHA had only 30 days to adopt its own standards, until December 4, 2021. However, in light of a federal court order staying the federal ETS, Oregon OSHA recently