Leave Rights in New Jersey
What are your rights when illness forces you to take time off from work?
New Jersey employees are protected by both the federal Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and the New Jersey Family Leave Act, N.J.S.A. § 34:11B-1 et seq. (NJFLA).
The NJFLA requires covered employers (those with 50 employees or more) to provide up to 12 weeks of leave in a 24 month period for the birth or adoption of a child or the serious health condition of a child, spouse, or parent. Unlike the FMLA, the NJFLA does not cover an employee’s own serious health condition.
The New Jersey Division on Civil Rights (DCR) enforces the NJFLA. The DCR has recently proposed new regulations primarily intended to bring the NJFLA in line with the FMLA. Visit the DCR here to see whether the regulations have been adopted.