join our network! affiliate login  
Custom Search
GET OUR FREE EMAIL NEWSLETTERS!
Daily and Weekly Editions • Articles • Alerts • Expert Advice • Learn More

Connecticut Passes Sweeping Changes to its Human Rights Laws

Executive Summary: In the continued fallout from the “me too” movement, Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont has signed new legislation imposing sweeping changes to Connecticut’s human rights law designed to reduce sexual harassment in the workplace and provide additional protections to victims of sexual harassment. The Act Combatting Sexual Assault and Sexual Harassment (the “Act”), which takes effect on October 1, 2019, expands the sexual harassment prevention laws by requiring additional training for employees and imposing new notice and posting requirements. Those making claims of sexual harassment and other discrimination claims will have increased remedies available to them. The following are the most significant changes to the Act that will directly affect employers on a daily basis. All employers, regardless of size, should take note of these changes and begin preparation for the new laws.

Time’s Up: Connecticut Employers to Prepare for New Sexual Harassment Training and Protections

On June 18, 2019, Governor Ned Lamont signed into law Connecticut’s new sexual harassment prevention legislation, known as the Time’s Up Act. The law significantly broadens sexual harassment training requirements, extending them to all employers in the state, and toughens penalties for noncompliance. The law also enhances protections for employees who complain about sexual harassment in the workplace. Most of the new requirements will go into effect on October 1, 2019.

Paid Family Leave: A Headache For Connecticut Small Businesses

Originally published in the Connecticut Law Tribune, June 2019. As paid family leave sweeps across the nation, we anticipate more and more employees will use it and will stay out longer because they are getting paid.

Connecticut Goes To $15 An Hour!

Connecticut is the latest state to move towards a $15 minimum wage. On May 17th, the state Senate approved HB 5004, which raises the hourly minimum wage from $10.10 to $15 by 2023. The bill was signed into law by Governor Ned Lamont on May 28.

Connecticut Expands Harassment Training and Posting Obligations for Employers

Nearly all employers in Connecticut will now have to provide sexual harassment training to employees under Connecticut Public Act No. 19-16, also referred to as the “Time’s Up Act,” an amendment to existing state law that Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont signed into law on June 18, 2019.

New Connecticut Law Addressing Sexual Harassment Imposes Additional Obligations on Employers

On June 18, 2019, Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont signed Substitute Senate Bill 3, publicly known as the “Time’s Up” bill and identified as Public Act 19-16.1 The law significantly changes the sexual harassment laws affecting Connecticut employers. A majority of these provisions will go into effect as of October 1, 2019.

Connecticut Set to Offer Most Generous Paid Family Leave Benefits in the Country

Connecticut continues to add to its roster of employee-friendly laws, leaving businesses throughout the state to figure out how best to address the resulting changes. The legislative session closed on June 5, 2019, with laws pertaining to paid family leave, sexual harassment training, whistleblower protections, and non-compete agreements awaiting likely signature by Governor Ned Lamont; a bill enacting changes to the state minimum wage law has already been signed.

It’s Official: Connecticut Minimum Wage Will Increase to $15.00 per Hour

On May 28, 2019, Governor Ned Lamont signed House Bill No. 5004 The bill, entitled “An Act Increasing the Minimum Fair Wage,” increases Connecticut’s minimum wage to $15.00 an hour over the next approximately four years.

Connecticut to Join the Increasing Number of States Enacting a $15 Minimum Wage Law

With Governor Ed Lamont pledging to sign it into law, Connecticut will become the latest state to pass a $15.00 per hour minimum wage bill joining, among other states, its Northeast neighbors New York, New Jersey and Massachusetts, in doing so.

Connecticut the Latest State to Increase the Statewide Minimum Wage to $15 per Hour

On May 17, 2019, Connecticut lawmakers passed House Bill 5004, “An Act Increasing the Minimum Fair Wage,” which raises the state’s minimum wage, in increments, to $15 per hour by 2023. Governor Ned Lamont has pledged to sign the bill.
tempobet