join our network! affiliate login  
Custom Search
GET OUR FREE EMAIL NEWSLETTERS!
Daily and Weekly Editions • Articles • Alerts • Expert Advice • Learn More

Deputy Sheriff Protected by Whistleblower Retaliation Law, California Court of Appeal Rules

The California Labor Code’s Section 1102.5(b) whistleblower protections are not limited to the first employee reporting alleged misconduct, the California Court of Appeal has ruled, affirming a judgment in favor of a deputy sheriff on his whistleblower retaliation claim. Hager v. County of Los Angeles, No. B238277 (Cal. Ct. App. Aug. 19, 2014).

California Adds ‘Abusive Conduct’ to Sexual Harassment Prevention Training for Supervisors

Employers subject to California’s mandatory “AB 1825” sexual harassment training requirement for supervisors will need to revise their programs to include prevention of “abusive conduct,” following an amendment (AB 2053) to California’s Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA).

California Enacts Paid Sick Leave Law

With the enactment of the Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014 (AB1522), California has become the second state in the nation, after Connecticut, to mandate employers provide their employees, including part-time and temporary workers, paid sick leave.

Is the Los Angeles Minimum Wage Increasing to $13.25 per Hour?

On Monday, September 1 in a Labor Day speech, Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti announced his proposal to increase the city’s minimum wage to $13.25 per hour by 2017, and to tie the minimum wage to the Consumer Price Index going forward. California’s minimum wage increased this summer to $9 per hour, and will increase again to $10 per hour in January of 2016.

More New California Employment Laws... Anti-Bullying Training and Unpaid Intern Harassment

The Governor has signed or is about to sign two more employment laws:

Court of Appeal: Lying on Timesheets re Break Time is Misconduct: No Unemployment for You

The Court of Appeal in Irving v. California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board reversed a trial court ruling awarding an ex-employee unemployment benefits.

California Enacts Paid Sick Leave Law

With the enactment of the Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014 (AB1522), California has become the second state in the nation, after Connecticut, to mandate employers provide their employees, including part-time and temporary workers, paid sick leave.

The Epidemic Continues: California Enacts Statewide Paid Sick Leave Law

On September 10, 2014, California Governor Edmund G. Brown, Jr. signed into law the Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014 ("California paid sick leave act") with an effective date of January 1, 2015. With the signing of this law, California becomes the second state to mandate that certain employers provide paid sick leave to employees.1 In addition, at least 13 cities, three of which are in California, have passed their own paid sick leave laws.2

New California Law Entitles Employees To Paid Sick Leave

On September 10, 2014, Gov. Jerry Brown signed into law the “Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014.” This law will require California employers to grant employees, including some part-time and temporary employees, at least three paid sick days each year.

Governor Brown Signs California’s Mandatory Paid Sick Leave Law

On Wednesday, September 10, 2014, Governor Jerry Brown signed a bill that provides workers with three paid sick days per year. Governor Brown enthusiastically endorsed the law’s passage in August when the California legislature passed the bill. The new law, entitled the “Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014,” requires California employers to provide employees with one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked starting on July 1, 2015. More details on the new law’s provisions can be found in our blog post, “BREAKING NEWS: California Legislature Passes Mandatory Paid Sick Leave Bill.”