Total Articles: 18
Brody and Associates, LLC • March 05, 2019
In Connecticut, minimum wage is currently $10.10 an hour. However, localities across the country, including Connecticut’s neighbor New York City, have rapidly been increasing the minimum wage to $15.00 an hour. In fact, this has been a movement sweeping the nation for years. Taking notice, employers in Connecticut are beginning to voluntarily take action, unprompted by the legislature, to increase their minimum wage.
Ogletree Deakins • September 08, 2017
The Connecticut Supreme Court’s holding in Williams v. General Nutrition Centers, Inc., No. SC 19829 (August 17, 2017) is a mixed bag for Connecticut employers. While the court held that Connecticut law does not generally prohibit an employer’s use of the fluctuating workweek method to calculate a nonexempt employee’s hourly overtime rate, it also held that a Connecticut Department of Labor wage order does prohibit its use in connection with mercantile employees, which includes retail employees.
XpertHR • August 30, 2017
Employers in Connecticut may not use the "fluctuating workweek" method of calculating overtime for retail employees who are paid a commission as part of their earnings, for delivery drivers or for sales merchandisers.
Ogletree Deakins • April 05, 2017
In a decision released on April 4, 2017, the Connecticut Supreme Court found that employers cannot take advantage of a “tip credit” for delivery drivers in order to meet the state minimum wage.
Jackson Lewis P.C. • April 03, 2017
Finding the Connecticut Department of Labor regulations on tip credit are “not incompatible” with the state tip credit law, the Connecticut Supreme Court has ruled that an employer’s pizza delivery drivers are not subject to a tip credit. Amaral Brothers, Inc. v. Department of Labor, No. SC 19622 (Apr. 4, 2017).
Berchem, Moses & Devlin, P.C. • December 15, 2016
Connecticut employers must begin paying $10.10 per hour to their employees on January 1, 2017.
A new law taking effect in Connecticut on October 1 will allow employers the convenience of paying employees by payroll card. Previously, this method of wage payment was not permitted, and employers in the state could pay employees only in cash, by check or direct deposit.
Berchem, Moses & Devlin, P.C. • December 29, 2015
Connecticut employers must begin paying $9.60 per hour to their employees on January 1, 2016 as part of legislation designed to raise the state minimum wage to $10.10 per hour by 2017. For restaurant waitstaff who receive sufficient gratuities, the employer must pay $7.82 per hour under the new minimum wage, but the employee must still make at least $9.60 per hour including tips and employers must follow recordkeeping and reporting obligations related to the tip credit.
Berchem, Moses & Devlin, P.C. • July 31, 2015
Wage violations are about to get more costly for Connecticut employers. A new statute, effective October 1, 2015, requires courts to award double damages plus court costs and attorneys’ fees if an employer has failed to pay an employee’s wages (including minimum wage and overtime owed), accrued fringe benefits, or arbitration award. The new law applies to all employers in the state.
Goldberg Segalla LLP • July 15, 2015
While employers frequently attempt to restrict discussion among employees regarding pay, recent legislation in Connecticut prohibits employers from disciplining or otherwise retaliating against employees who discuss wage information.
Berchem, Moses & Devlin, P.C. • June 26, 2015
A recently enacted law, Public Act No. 15-196, prohibits public and private employers from barring discussions about wages or penalizing employees for discussing wages. The new law, which goes into effect July 1, 2015, protects the rights of employees to discuss their own wages and the wages of co-workers who have voluntarily disclosed their wages.
Littler Mendelson, P.C. • June 26, 2015
On June 23, 2015, Connecticut Governor Dannel P. Malloy signed into law a new statute that imposes double damages on employers who fail to pay an employee minimum wage or overtime. With one exception, the new law requires a court to award double damages plus court costs and attorney’s fees if it finds that an employer has (1) failed to pay an employee’s wages, accrued fringe benefits, or arbitration award or (2) failed to meet the law’s requirements for an employee’s minimum wage or overtime rates.
Goldberg Segalla LLP • April 18, 2014
Connecticut recently became the first state in the country to increase the minimum wage to $10.10 per hour by the year 2017, the same rate that President Barack Obama has been seeking for the federal minimum wage. Connecticut lawmakers passed the historic bill on March 26, 2014, and it was signed into law by Governor Dannel Malloy the following day. Connecticut had just voted to increase the minimum wage last year, to its current level of $8.70 per hour.
Brody and Associates, LLC • April 08, 2014
Despite the fact that Connecticut’s minimum wage just rose from $8.25 to $8.70 per hour and was slated to increase to $9.00 in 2015, the Connecticut General Assembly could not wait to pass another minimum wage law. The Governor signed a bill into law that will bring Connecticut’s minimum wage up to $10.10 in 2017, with interim increases to $9.15 in 2015 and $9.60 in 2016.
Ogletree Deakins • April 03, 2014
On March 27, 2014, Connecticut became the first state in the country to pass legislation mandating an increase to the state minimum wage to $10.10 per hour by 2017—the same rate to which President Barack Obama is seeking to raise the federal minimum wage. The Connecticut state legislature approved the bill on March 26, and Connecticut Governor Dannel Malloy signed the bill into law the following day.
Brody and Associates, LLC • July 23, 2013
The Connecticut General Assembly approved a pay hike for thousands of low-wage workers. The Connecticut minimum wage, currently $8.25 per hour, will increase to $8.70 on January 1, 2014, then $9 a year later. Employers should update their workplace posters to reflect the new rates.
Ogletree Deakins • July 02, 2013
Connecticut recently implemented an increase in its minimum wage in a two-step process that will go into effect between 2014 and 2015. The state’s minimum wage will increase from $8.25 to $8.70 per hour on January 1, 2014. The minimum wage will then increase further to $9.00 per hour on January 1, 2015. This long-anticipated change will be the first increase in Connecticut’s minimum wage since January 2010.
Brody and Associates, LLC • April 23, 2012
If you're a Connecticut employer subject to the new Paid Sick Leave Law, the time to begin doling out paid sick time is at hand. An eligible employee is entitled to begin using sick time after his or her 680th hour on the job since January 1, 2012. For many full-time employees, the 680th hour will occur around April 30, 2012.