Total Articles: 10
Jackson Lewis P.C. • February 25, 2019
Colorado’s Equal Pay for Equal Work Act (SB 19-085), originally introduced on January 17, received its first hearing in the Senate Judiciary Committee on February 20, 2019.
Fisher Phillips • May 03, 2018
The Colorado Court of Appeals recently held that the Colorado Wage Claim Act does not categorically bar individual liability for unpaid wages, rejecting arguments that a 2003 Colorado Supreme Court decision precluded any and all such claims. In other words, managers may now be personally on the hook for unpaid wage claims brought by current or former employees. The decision highlights the need for employers to create best practices to ensure the state’s wage and hour laws are followed, and should spur managers to take a specific interest in confirming compliance at their workplaces (Paradine v. Goei).
Jackson Lewis P.C. • March 08, 2018
Under the Colorado Wage Claim Act (CWCA), a terminated employee’s right to seek unpaid wages or compensation at termination is subject to the two- or three-year statute of limitations found in the CWCA, the Colorado Supreme Court has held. Hernandez v. Domenico Farms, Inc., 2018 CO 15 (Mar. 5, 2018).
Ogletree Deakins • April 20, 2017
On April 13, 2017, Governor Hickenlooper signed the Wage Theft Transparency Act into law, which is effective immediately. The Act makes “wage theft” violations in Colorado, including nonpayment of wages or overtime compensation, public record and subject to records requests under the Colorado Open Records Act.
Jackson Lewis P.C. • October 02, 2015
The minimum wage and overtime pay rules in Colorado’s Minimum Wage Order (MWO) apply to companions for the elderly or infirm who work for third-party employers, a federal judge in Colorado has ruled. Kennett v. Bayada Home Health Care, Inc., 14-cv-2005-CMA-MJW (D. Colo. Sept. 24, 2015).
Fisher Phillips • January 02, 2015
The Colorado minimum wage increased by 23 cents to $8.23 per hour on January 1, 2015. Tipped employees are entitled to receive at least $5.21 per hour. These increases to Colorado’s minimum wage rates reflect the annual adjustment for inflation required by the Colorado Constitution.
Fisher Phillips • January 07, 2014
On January 1, 2014, the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment increased the minimum wage in Colorado from $7.78 to $8.00 per hour and from $4.76 to $4.98 for tipped employees.
Ogletree Deakins • January 03, 2012
Effective January 1, 2012, Colorado's minimum wage increased by $0.28, from $7.36 per hour to $7.64 per hour (for tipped employees, from $4.34 to $4.62). This is $0.39 more than the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour.
Fisher Phillips • December 20, 2011
On January 1, 2012 Colorado employers in a variety of industries will face an increase in the minimum wage. The 2012 minimum will be $7.64 (up from the 2011 rate of $7.36) and will affect employers in the retail and service, food and beverage, commercial support service, and health and medical industries.
Fisher Phillips • June 08, 2009
On June 2, 2009, Governor Ritter signed into law H.B. 1310 paving the way for any person to file complaints with the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment ("CDOLE") asserting that an employer has improperly classified an employee as an independent contractor. The new law became effective immediately and imposes a fine of $5,000 per misclassified employee, which could jump to $25,000 for a second or subsequent offense. Additionally, repeat offenders could be barred from contracting with the state for up to two years.