Total Articles: 12
Ogletree Deakins • November 29, 2018
On November 19, 2018, the Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries (BOLI) issued its final administrative rules relating to the state’s Equal Pay Law, which prohibits pay discrimination on the basis of protected class, as well as screening job applicants based on current or past compensation.
Jackson Lewis P.C. • October 03, 2018
Oregon’s state government, ahead of the January 1, 2019, effective date of the state Equal Pay Act (EPA), is conducting an expansive, behind-the-scenes pay equity analysis of its departments to identify and remedy any potential pay disparities between male and female employees.
Fisher Phillips • February 07, 2017
Oregon’s Bureau of Labor & Industries (BOLI) recently announced a new interpretation of overtime compensation rules that directly impacts Oregon breweries and brewpubs. Under the new guidance issued in December 2016, employees in “manufacturing establishments” must be paid overtime rates for hours worked in excess of 40 hours per week and overtime rates for any hours in excess of 10 hours in any given day. BOLI says that manufacturing establishments cannot continue with the former practice of paying employees the greater of the daily overtime rate or the weekly overtime rate.
Littler Mendelson, P.C. • June 20, 2016
As we previously advised,1 on March 2, 2016, Oregon enacted the first geographically-tiered minimum wage hike in the country. This new minimum wage law, which becomes effective on July 1, 2016, imposes different minimum wage rates for employers in the Portland, Oregon metro area and for employers located in the more rural parts of the state.
When Oregon passed a new minimum wage law that will establish three different wage rates for three different regions of the state, many employers wondered how they would determine which rate will apply to which employees.
A new Oregon law will require an employer to include some additional information on employees' pay statements than is currently required, starting January 1, 2017. The new law aims to deter wage theft by codifying and tightening up the pay statement requirements that were previously found only in the Oregon Administrative Rules. According to a Staff Measure Summary that accompanies the legislation, three new full-time positions will be funded in the state Wage and Hour Division to investigate and enforce claims of underpaid and unpaid wages.
Jackson Lewis P.C. • March 14, 2016
While the federal minimum wage remains stagnant ($7.25 per hour since July 24, 2009), different states have sought to lead with their own minimum wage rulemaking.
Ogletree Deakins • March 10, 2016
Oregon’s legislature has approved a bill to raise the state’s minimum wage. Governor Kate Brown signed the bill on March 2, 2016, with increases scheduled to take effect beginning July 1, 2016.
XpertHR • February 23, 2016
Oregon's legislature has passed a new minimum wage bill, under which the minimum wage will vary depending on where an employer is located.
Fisher Phillips • February 19, 2016
In a first-of-its-kind development, the Oregon legislature passed and the Governor will sign into law a minimum wage hike law that will go into effect July 1, 2016. Under the new law, the rates will steadily increase through 2023, eventually giving Oregon the highest minimum wage rates in the nation.
Fisher Phillips • January 06, 2015
After a January 1st increase of 15 cents per hour, Oregon’s minimum wage now stands at $9.25 – exactly two dollars per hour more than the federal minimum wage rate of $7.25 per hour. That places Oregon near the top of the list of 29 states with minimum wage rates higher than the federal rate. According to the National Conference of State Legislatures, only Washington and the District of Columbia have minimum wage rates higher than Oregon at $9.47 and $9.50 respectively.
Fisher Phillips • January 05, 2009
Oregon's minimum wage increased forty-five cents, from $7.95 to $8.40, effective January 1, 2009. The increase comes thanks to an Oregon statute requiring the Commissioner of the Bureau of Labor and Industries (BOLI) to calculate a minimum-wage adjustment each September. The adjustment is based on any increase during the previous 12 months in the U.S. City Average Consumer Price Index (CPI).