join our network! affiliate login  
Custom Search
GET OUR FREE EMAIL NEWSLETTERS!
Daily and Weekly Editions • Articles • Alerts • Expert Advice • Learn More

Total Articles: 10

New Jersey Paid Sick Leave Bill Signed Into Law

On May 2, 2018, New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy signed into law a bill that requires New Jersey employers to provide their employees with paid sick leave. Once enacted, New Jersey will join nine other states and the District of Columbia in requiring paid sick leave. The law will become effective on October 29, 2018. The key provisions of the law and their impact on employers doing business in New Jersey are summarized below.

New Jersey Law Will Require Employers to Provide Paid Sick Leave

On May 2, 2018, New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy signed into law the New Jersey Earned Sick and Safe Days Act, which requires all New Jersey employers to provide earned sick leave to all employees. The law will take effect on October 30, 2018.

New Jersey Enacts Paid Sick Leave Act and Springs Forward with Legislative Agenda

Expanding employee protections in New Jersey is on the agenda for the overwhelming party-majorities in the Senate and the Assembly in the Legislature and for Governor Phil Murphy. In the latest development, Governor Murphy signed The New Jersey Paid Sick Leave Act on May 2, 2018. The bill passed by 2-1 margins in both houses. The Paid Sick Leave Act will go into effect on October 29, 2018, 180 days after enactment.

New Jersey Joins Growing List of States Mandating Paid Sick Leave

Executive Summary: On May 2, 2018, Governor Phil Murphy signed into law a bill that requires New Jersey businesses to provide covered employees with paid sick leave. The Act preempts local sick leave ordinances currently enacted by 13 New Jersey municipalities. Employers will need to conform their leave policies within 180 days of this enactment.

New Jersey Enacts Paid Sick and Safe Leave Law

Paid sick leave will soon be available to most New Jersey employees under a sweeping law that Governor Phil Murphy signed yesterday. While 13 New Jersey municipalities already have passed laws requiring employers to offer earned sick leave, an estimated 1.2 million workers in the Garden State do not have access to any kind of paid sick leave.

New Jersey Hotels, Motels Must Provide Staff Human Trafficking Training under New Regulation

Under new regulation, hotels and motels in New Jersey must train employees on human trafficking. Training includes posting an informational human trafficking poster and ensuring certain hotel and motel employees view an informational video on human trafficking as a condition of employment. The regulation applies to all hotels and motels, regardless of the number of employees employed.

New Jersey’s New Paid Sick Leave Law: What Employers Need to Know

New Jersey has now become the tenth state to enact a statewide mandatory paid sick leave law. The New Jersey Paid Sick Leave Act was signed into law today by Governor Phil Murphy and will go into effect on October 29, 2018. Once effective, it will require New Jersey employers of all sizes to provide up to 40 hours of paid sick leave per year to covered employees.

New Jersey Governor to Sign Statewide Paid Sick and Safe Leave Bill

On the heels of signing equal pay legislation which will substantially expand pay equity protections for New Jersey employees,1 Governor Phil Murphy tweeted that he will sign a statewide paid sick leave bill on Wednesday, May 2, 2018. Once he does so, New Jersey will become the 10th state with a paid sick leave law, furthering a nationwide trend that has been gathering steam for the past several years. The new law explicitly preempts 13 existing local paid sick leave ordinances and creates a statewide obligation. While many provisions mirror existing local requirements, there are several key differences. The law will take effect 180 days after the governor signs the bill, which is projected to be October 29, 2018.

New Jersey Governor Signs Equal Pay Bill

New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy signed the Diane B. Allen Equal Pay Act into law on April 24, 2018. The Act will take effect on July 1, 2018. The new law contains sweeping changes to the New Jersey Law Against Discrimination (LAD), including a prohibition against discrimination with respect to compensation or financial terms of employment, a six-year statute of limitations, and treble damages for violators. For details of the Act, see our article, Double Take: New Jersey Governor Poised to Enact Equal Pay Act.

New Jersey Poised to Enact Statewide Paid Sick Leave Law

Paid sick leave legislation has passed both chambers of the New Jersey legislature and awaits Gov. Phil Murphy's signature.