1 of 2
Involuntary Termination under COBRA - ARRA, Anyone?
Posted: 13 March 2009 10:35 AM   [ Ignore ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2008-11-12

Numerous clients have now asked me whether an involuntary reduction in hours, as a result of a RIF or otherwise, which causes an employee to lose his or her health benefits, constitutes an involuntary termination under the ARRA in order to qualify the employee as an Assistance Eligible Individual (AEI) for the subsidy.

According to the local Employee Benefits Security Administration representative that I spoke with this afternoon, employees that accepted Per Diem positions as the result of a RIF are ineligible for the subsidized COBRA premium assistance program because they have not actually “lost their job” and are not “between jobs”.

As an attorney, I am dissatisfied because I can’t find anything in writing, or in the law, that would confirm that individuals whose job status is changed or cut back involuntarily are ineligible for the subsidy.  We all know that a reduction in hours is a qualifying event under COBRA, however, it is not mentioned in the ARRA.  That said, if it were me, I would probably rather be fired and get the 35% subsidy than have my hours reduced and have to pay the full premium.

Does anyone know anything concrete?

Jonathan F. Cohen, Esq.
APRUZZESE, McDERMOTT,
MASTRO & MURPHY,P.C.
Somerset Hills Corporate Center
25 Independence Boulevard
P.O. Box 112
Liberty Corner, NJ 07938
Tele: (908) 580-1776
Fax: (908) 647-1492
email:  .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Posted: 13 March 2009 10:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2008-07-03

This is not 100% on point, but guidance from an employment law firm suggests the IRS will probably define involuntary termination. Presumably they would cover reduction in hours, also.

What is an Involuntary Termination?