4-day Work week
Posted: 24 August 2008 02:31 PM   [ Ignore ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2008-03-04

We have a small firm of 10 employees; 5 exempt and five hourly.  We would like to look at the possibility of implementing a four-day work week—particularly with respect to hourly employees.  We believe this would be beneficial, however, owner of company is not inclined to offer for non-exempt employees - - can I still offer to hourly?  Secondly, how would I handle paid holidays, accrued vacation time/sick time etc., etc.  We would be looking at 4 10-hour days.  My concern is an employee works M-Th (40 hours) - - Friday is a holiday - - how do I pay them?  Firm is in California.  Anyone have a policy manual on how this could be implemented?

Thanks for your help.

Posted: 25 August 2008 04:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  28
Joined  2007-12-31

I am not a California expert, but I believe that you would still have to pay overtime for all hours worked over 8 in a work day in California.  So if you want to implement a 4 day work week, you may be required to pay overtime at a rate of 8 hours per week.  Check with a labor attorney who specializes in California Law. 

If it is OK, then you would have to break the PTO, sick and vacation time into hours - not days and adjust accordingly.  The next issue is holiday pay.  A problem will arise here.  If you currently have the basic 6 paid holidays a year, this equates to 48 hours of paid time.  If you reduce this to 5 days, then you increase your holiday pay by 2 hours per employee.  Then you have to decide which 5 you will grant.  If you have 10 paid holidays, it is easier to reduce this to 8 holidays, but which two days will you take off the list?